Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago – Covid-19 Update (12/10/2020)

Health Alert

U.S. Embassy, Santiago, Chile


Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago

Location: Chile

Event: Changes in Quarantine Measures Announced

***The Embassy will send STEP messages whenever there are changes to quarantine measures announced by the Chilean government***

As of December 10, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 566,440 cases of COVID-19 in Chile.

The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on December 10:

  • The imposition of a quarantine for the following comunas (begins Saturday, December 12 at 5:00 am):
    • Los Ángeles (VIII Region)
    • Paillaco (XIV Region)
    • Río Bueno (XIV Region)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 1 (Quarantine) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the removal of quarantine from Monday-Friday (begins Monday, December 14 at 5:00 am):
    • Futrono (XIV Region)
    • Los Lagos (XIV Region)
    • Puqueldón (X Region)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 2 (Transition) to Phase 3 (Preparation). This includes the lifting of quarantine on the weekends and holidays (begins December 14 at 5:00 am):
    • Quillón (XVI Region)
    • Parral (VII Region)
    • Río Negro (X Region)
  • The downgrading of the following comunas from Phase 4 (Initial Opening) to Phase 3 (Initial Preparation). This includes the closure of cinemas and theaters, as well as indoor dining at restaurants (begins Saturday, December 12 at 5:00 am):
    • Combaralá (IV Region)
    • Punitaqui (IV Region)
    • Monte Patria (IV Region)
    • Río Hurtado (IV Region)
  • The downgrading of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the reimposition of quarantines on the weekends and holidays (begins Saturday, December 12 at 5:00 am):
    • Ovalle (IV Region)
    • Cabrero (VIII Region)
    • Yumbel (VIII Region)
    • Laja (VIII Region)
    • Tirúa (VIII Region)
    • Penco (VIII Region)
    • San José de la Mariquina (XIV Region)

For a full list of measures implemented by the Chilean government, please visit our Embassy webpage on COVID-19. This webpage is updated daily, and includes a list of all comunas currently in quarantine.

For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).

Assistance: U.S. Embassy Santiago, Chile