Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago – Covid-19 Update (12/21/2020)

U.S. Embassy, Santiago, Chile


Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago

Location: Chile

Event: Changes in Quarantine Measures Announced

***The Embassy will send STEP messages whenever there are changes to quarantine measures announced by the Chilean government***

As of December 21, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 587,488 cases of COVID-19 in Chile.

The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on December 21:

  • The changing of the nation-wide curfew. It will now begin at 10:00pm and last until 5:00am each day (begins Saturday, December 26 at 05:00 am).
    • Curfew on December 24 will begin at 2:00 am (Christmas Day) and end at 5:00am
    • Curfew on December 31 will begin at 2:00 am (New Year’s Day) and end at 7:00am
  •     The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 1 (Quarantine) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the removal of quarantine from Monday-Friday (begins Wednesday, December 23 at 5:00 am):
    •     Valdivia  (Region de los Rios)
    •     Rio Bueno (Region de los Rios)
    •     Paillaco (Region de los Rios)
    •     Maullin (Region de los Lagos)
    •     Calbuco (Region de los Lagos)
    •     Cholchol (Region de la Araucania)
    •     Curarrehue (Region de la Araucania)
    •     Los Sauces (Region de la Araucania)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 4 (Initial Opening). This includes the re-opening of cinemas and movie theaters, as well as indoor seating at restaurants at limited capacity (begins Wednesday, December 23 at 5:00 am):
    • Palena (Region de los Lagos)
    • Chaiten (Region de los Lagos)
    • Hualaihue (Region de los Lagos)
    • Futaleufu (Region de los Lagos)
  •     The downgrading of the following comunas from from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the imposition of a quarantine on the weekends and holidays (begins Wednesday, December 23 at 5:00 am):
    •     Concon (Region de Valparaiso)
    •     Valparaiso (Region de Valparaiso)
    •     Vina del Mar (Region de Valparaiso)
    •     Talca (Region del Maule)
    •     Maule (Region del Maule)
    •     Molina (Region del Maule)
    •     San Rosendo (Region del Biobio)
    •     Nueva Imperial (Region de la Araucania)
    •     Villarica (Region de la Araucania)
    •     Pitrufquen (Region de la Araucania)

For a full list of measures implemented by the Chilean government, please visit our Embassy webpage on COVID-19. This webpage is updated daily, and includes a list of all comunas currently in quarantine.

For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).

Assistance: U.S. Embassy Santiago, Chile