Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago – Covid-19 Update (02/01/2021)

U.S. Embassy, Santiago, Chile


Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago

 Location: Chile 

 Event: Changes in Quarantine Measures Announced

 ***The Embassy will send STEP messages whenever there are changes to quarantine measures announced by the Chilean government***

 As of February 1, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 730,888 cases of COVID-19 in Chile.

 The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on February 1:     

  • The imposition of a quarantine for the following comunas (begins Thursday, February 4 at 5:00 am):
      • Arica (XV Region)
      • Tierra Amarilla (III Region)
      • Perquenco (IX Region)
      • Quinchao (X Region)
      • Curaco de Vélez (X Region)
      • Chonchi (X Region)
      • Quemchi (X Region)
      • Coyhaique (XI Region)
  •  The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 2 (Transition)  to Phase 3 (Preparation). This includes the lifting of quarantine on the weekends and holidays (begins Thursday, February 4 at 5:00 am):
      • Providencia (RM)
      • Las Condes (RM)
      • Vitacura (RM)
      • Lo Barnechea (RM)
      • Maipú (RM)
      • Yerbas Buenas (VII Region)
      • Renaico (IX Region)
      • Chile Chico (XI Region)
  • The downgrading of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the reimposition of quarantines on the weekends and holidays (begins Thursday, February 4 at 5:00 am):
      • María Elena (II Region)
      • Freirina (III Region)
      • Huasco (III Region)
      • Cartagena (V Region)
      • Petorca (V Region)
      • Olmué (V Region)
      • Colina (RM)
      • Pirque (RM)
      • Isla de Maipo (RM)
      • Coinco (VI Region)
      • Nancagua (VI Region)
      • San Fernando (VI Region)
      • Mostazal (VI Region)
      • Peralillo (VI Region)
      • San Rafael (VII Region)
      • Pencahue (VII Region)
      • Vichuquén (VII Region)
      • Licantén (VII Region)
      • Río Claro (VII Region)
      • San Ignacio (XVI Region)
      • Bulnes (XVI Region)
    • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 1 (Quarantine)  to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the lifting of quarantine Monday-Friday (begins Thursday, February 4  at 5:00 am):
      • Aysén (XI Region)

For a full list of measures implemented by the Chilean government, please visit our Embassy webpage on COVID-19. This webpage is updated daily, and includes a list of all comunas currently in quarantine.

 For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).

 Assistance: U.S. Embassy Santiago, Chile