Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago – Covid-19 Update (02/08/2021)

Health Alert

U.S Embassy, Santiago, Chile

Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago

Location: Chile

Event: Changes in Quarantine Measures Announced

***The Embassy will send STEP messages whenever there are changes to quarantine measures announced by the Chilean government***

As of February 8, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 755,350 cases of COVID-19 in Chile.

The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on February 8:

  • The imposition of a quarantine for the following comunas (begins Thursday, February 11 at 5:00 am):
    • Vichuquén (VII Region)
    • Empedrado (VII Region)
    • Parral (VII Region)
    • Purén (IX Region)
    • Collipulli (IX Region)
    • Melipeuco (IX Region)
    • Loncoche (IX Region)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 1 (Quarantine) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the lifting of quarantine Monday-Friday (begins Thursday, February 11 at 5:00 am):
    • Huara (I Region)
    • San Vicente (VI Region)
    • Romeral (VII Region)
    • Curicó (VII Region)
    • Maule (VII Region)
    • Molina (VII Region)
    • Teno (VII Region)
    • San Javier (VII Region)
    • Tomé (VIII Region)
    • Coronel (VIII Region)
    • Hualpén (VIII Region)
    • Penco (VIII Region)
    • Talcahuano (VIII Region)
    • Chiguayante (VIII Region)
    • Hualqui (VIII Region)
    • San Pedro de la Paz (VIII Region)
    • Concepción (VIII Region)
    • Nacimiento (VIII Region)
    • Mulchén (VIII Region)
    • Negrete (VIII Region)
    • Galvarino (IX Region)
    • Temuco (IX Region)
    • Vilcún (IX Region)
    • Valdivia (XIV Region)
    • Paillaco (XIV Region)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 2 (Transition) to Phase 3 (Preparation). This includes the lifting of quarantine on the weekends and holidays (Thursday, Feburary 11 at 5:00 am):
    • Concón (V Region)
    • Villa Alemana (V Region)
    • Quilpué (V Region)
    • Recoleta (RM)
    • Santiago Centro (RM)
    • La Florida (RM)
    • San Ramón (RM)
    • La Granja (RM)
    • La Pintana (RM)
    • Puente Alto (RM)
    • Machalí (VI Region)
    • Freire (IX Region)
    • Angol (IX Region)
  • The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 4 (Initial Opening). This the resumption of indoor dining in restaruants, as well as the reopening of theaters and cinemas with limited capacity (begins Monday, February 8 at 5:00 am):
    • San Pedro (RM)
    • Tiltil (RM)
    • Alhué (RM)
  • The downgrading  of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the reimposition of quarantines on the weekends and holidays (begins Thursday, February 11 at 5:00 am):
    • La Ligua (V Region)
    • Doñihue (VI Region)
    • Palmilla (VI Region)
    • San Nicolás (XVI Region)
    • Contulmo (VIII Region)
    • Tucapel (VIII Region)
    • Carahue (IX Region)

For a full list of measures implemented by the Chilean government, please visit our Embassy webpage on COVID-19. This webpage is updated daily, and includes a list of all comunas currently in quarantine.

For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).

Assistance: U.S. Embassy Santiago, Chile