Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago (Covid update, 01/21/2021)

Health Alert

U.S. Embassy, Santiago, Chile

Health Alert – U.S. Embassy Santiago

Location: Chile

Event: Changes in Quarantine Measures Announced

***The Embassy will send STEP messages whenever there are changes to quarantine measures announced by the Chilean government***

As of January 21, the Ministry of Health has confirmed 685,107 cases of COVID-19 in Chile.

The government of Chile has implemented measures to limit the spread of COVID-19. The following new measures were announced by the Chilean government on January 21:

·         The imposition of a quarantine for the following comunas (begins Saturday, January 23 at 5:00 am):

o    Pozo Almonte (I Region)

o    Talca (VII Region)

o    Chillán (XVI Region)

o    Chillán Viejo (XVI Region)

o    Tirúa (VIII Region)

o    Los Álamos (VIII Region)

o    Lebu (VIII Region)

o    Lumaco (IX Region)

o    Traiguén (IX Region)

o    Nueva Imperial (IX Region)

o    Cholchol (IX Region)

o    Río Negro (X Region)

o    San Juan de la Costa (X Region)

o    Puyehue (X Region)

·         The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 1 (Quarantine) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the removal of quarantine from Monday-Friday (begins Monday, January 25 at 5:00 am):

o    Los Ángeles (VIII Region)

o    Renaico (IX Region)

o    Angol (IX Region)

·         The upgrading of the following comunas from Phase 2 (Transition)  to Phase 3 (Preparation). This includes the lifting of quarantine on the weekends and holidays (begins Monday, January 25 at 5:00 am).

o    San José de Maipo (RM)

o    La Ligua (V Region)

o    Cochrane (XI Region)

·         The downgrading of the following comunas from Phase 3 (Preparation) to Phase 2 (Transition). This includes the reimposition of quarantines on the weekends and holidays (begins Saturday, January 23 at 5:00 am):

o    Huara (I Region)

o    Tocopilla (II Region)

o    Cabildo (V Region)

o    Paine (RM)

o    Rengo (VI Region)

o    Coltauco (VI Region)

o    Pelarco (VII Region)

o    Colbún (VII Region)

o    Corral (XIV Region)

o    Lanco (XIV Region)

o    Coyhaique (XI Region)

For a full list of measures implemented by the Chilean government, please visit our Embassy webpage on COVID-19. This webpage is updated daily, and includes a list of all comunas currently in quarantine.

For more information on the Chilean government’s “Paso a Paso” program, and what is permitted during each phase, please visit this website (Spanish only).

Assistance: U.S. Embassy Santiago, Chile

Phone number:  +56 2 2330 3000

Email address:

Embassy website:

State Department – Consular Affairs 888-407-4747 or 202-501-4444

Country Specific Information for Chile

Enroll in the Department of State’s Smart Traveler Enrollment Program to receive security updates.

Follow us on Facebook and Twitter